Akaya Akashiya Ayakashino to be Released This May!

The wait is nearly over.  According to  the Haccaworks* homepage, Akaya Akashiya Ayakashino has a May release.  There’s even an ordering page up.  THANK GOD.  I’m going to have to figure out my mode of attack soon.   I hope AkaAka + AGTH + translator aggregator works well on Windows 7.

Refer to my old preview for an introduction to the story and characters from the game.  Time will tell if I ever expand that beast.

9 responses to “Akaya Akashiya Ayakashino to be Released This May!

  1. is voice acting featured in this game? cause they didn’t seem to list any seiyuus or perhaps they haven’t updated it?

    • No voice acting is present in this game. It is, after all, a self-published game and not a professional company! It will likely be like Hanakisou which started out as an unvoiced PC game. After gaining popularity, it was ported to PS2 and PSP with voices.

      • ah i see, thanks for the info. I enjoyed Hanakisou though it was with voice overs. Hopefully this one will be a hit and they’ll port it with voice acting! 😀

  2. Ah, no voice is nothing new for me, since I played the PC version of Hanakisou first.

    And omg, this May sure sounds promising!! (lol,to me, I’ve finally ordered a pretty big bunch of manga :3).

    I can’t wait for it to be released! Honestly not sure if I’ll be able to buy it for now, but will definitely buy it in summer.
    What is AGTH? And what kind of translation thingy do you use? O.o I’ve never heard of such a thing for games.

    Thanks for the news!!!!

    • Same here–I’m okay with the no voices to begin with as adding voices later is a good ploy for me to play it again. :3 Hopefully you’ll get to play it soon enough then 😀

      AGTH = Anime Game Text Hooker. It’s a program that extracts the dialogue text from games so it can be readily pasted into translation programs.

      The best use of AGTH is pairing it with a translation tool. When I first used it, lots used Atlas translating software and got very Engrishy results. There’s a better tool now imo. Translation aggregator takes that extracted text and automatically runs it through several translation resources, ranging from Babelfish, Excite, and even looks up words individually on Jim Breen. I find the last one the most useful–even a basic knowledge of sentence structure can help you understand something simple. It makes playing visual novels much easier! If you’re not using either currently, I can’t stress enough how awesome they are. I had them working flawlessly for most games in XP. I’ll see how well it works in Windows 7 soon (others seem to have no new issues).

      http://www.hongfire.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36807&page=1 (AGTH)
      http://www.hongfire.com/forum/showthread.php?t=94395&page=1 (translation aggregator)

  3. I tried one of the available demo versions, but it doesn’t seem to work very well with Wine: nothing happens after the first message. Sigh, seems that I’ll have to reboot into Windows when checking out the demo.

    How do you buy this game? It says that you can buy it from Haccaworks directly, but you have to pay with a Yūbin-furikae, which tends to result in a per-transaction cost of about ¥4,000 if you’re not in Japan. It also says that you can buy it from “certain shops”, but I can’t figure out which ones, or if they offer mail order and decent payment options.

    • Compatibility is tricky, particularly if they never say it will run on something. I have a Windows box just for playing games..or will once it’s replaced.

      The shops are listed here: http://haccaworks.net/aaa/aka_tokuten.htm They moved it for some reason.
      A number don’t offer no-hassle international shipping from what I’ve seen, particularly if you’re looking for a specific version (the extras vary). Since time was running out (I see it was extended a bit) and I’m swamped with finals week/grading, I ended up doing a deputy service thru animate as I’m taking no risks about securing a copy.

  4. I honestly wasn’t expecting it to come out this soon. Such a surprise. I spent the longest time deciding between where to order, but finally went with the main site for the omake book.

    • Me too–I figured it would be late summer. Since I have more time in the summer, I’m very excited. :3

      There’s a lot of different versions, so it was hard to decide! The omake booklet looks fun! I ended up going for the one with the postcards. If/when they release any extra booklets/guides like they did with Hanakisou, I’ll get them somehow!

Leave a comment