Arrival of Dot Kareshi -We’re 8bit Lovers!- I ~Densetsu no Otome~

Dot Kareshi -We’re 8bit Lovers!- I ~Densetsu no Otome~ came in the mail today. I purchased the game/CD combo and all the extras from Stellaworth. Cue the crappy quality pictures.

dotkare01dotkare05Overall, I’m very glad I bought the extras. The Book of Beginnings is high quality. Even though it’s a softcover, it has a glossy dust jacket. Below the cover is a generic map illustration. It’s a squandered opportunity for fun drawings you often find hidden under these covers. The rest is good though.

dotkare03 dotkare04Each character has a profile as shown above with basic information, stats, character design variations, and sample CGs. There’s also a short story and rough sketches included.

dotkare02dotkare06

The replaceable jacket bromide illustrations were an excellent buy. Great poses, nice color palettes, and ridiculously seductive facial expressions. I think Wizard wins in terms of overall presentation. However, I like Priest so far, so he gets dibs on being the CD cover. The Stellaworth extras are the blue and black paper with a short story and the small glossy print of the cover illustration.

I’m already playing the game and it will likely take only a couple hours total to complete all routes. Even though it’s short, I love it. Just because it’s short, that  doesn’t mean they cheaped out on the production, design, or writing. It’s a fun, witty homage to old JRPGs. The character designs are bright and very animated with changing facial expressions, decent lip-syncing, and lots of shifting movement while characters talk.

dotkare08

The art resources can handle close-up zooms and still look fabulous.

dotkare09

The nippleless wonder here looks pretty good naked.

The game’s interface and music are clearly inspired by older video games. For being a short game, there’s 20 short tracks that you can listen to in the extra section. The extra section contains things that are standard for Rejet games, including short, voiced questions/scenarios from each character that gives you a little more insight into their character.

dotkare07

Characters are animated here as well. Hero zoomed in close to glare.

I guess I’m biased because I’m currently playing Diabolik Lovers on PSP, but I think they should have used the dummy head mic more during the actual game recordings and not just the drama CD. It’s used very sparingly (in the extras section) and there were plenty of lines that could have benefited from it. Other than that, all the performances are enjoyable. The dummy head mic is fully utilized during the drama CD tracks.

Okay, I didn’t intend on writing a short review, so I’ll stop here. I’m just overly excited. Play it. Love it.

Since I’ll finish Dot Kare by the end of the day, I’m looking for my next prey. I pre-ordered the regular edition of Shiratsuyu no Kai, which has an interesting horror/ghost story theme and most importantly, Hino Satoshi has a role where he’s a hot, yet likely very crazy guy. It’s going to use the dummy head mic, so I’m anticipating a perfectly sweet, yet chilling performance from him because that’s what he does best. He’s so good at playing two-faced bastards.

I also pre-ordered the super limited (and super fucking expensive) edition of Seishun Hajimemashita from comicomi. I’m still crying over how much it will cost me, but I really wanted the extras and the comicomi exclusive CD which features Yoshino Hiroyuki’s character.

Oh, this blog turns 3 years old tomorrow! I don’t have anything planned unfortunately, although I might dig up something. This blog has lasted so long precisely because I don’t fret when I lag behind in posting. For those of you who still follow despite that, you’re great and also very patient. Cheers.

2 responses to “Arrival of Dot Kareshi -We’re 8bit Lovers!- I ~Densetsu no Otome~

  1. I haven’t even heard of the game until I saw the feed full of posts about the game. Why is it so short? Is it a multi-game thing like Hana Awase? It looks fun, I think I might play it too!

    Shiratsuyu no Kai looks nice as well but I suspect it’s not as interesting as it looks =.= (I hope I’m wrong though).

    Holy, Seishun animate tokuten costs 12,000 yen!! I paid 10,000 yen for Norn9 a while back and thought it was a whole fortune! I hope Seishun’s better than Starry Sky which I found boring, nice at times, but mostly boring.
    I’m currently waiting for Jyuuzaengi 2 and AkaAka for PSP! Btw do you know when they’re going to release it? At least I wasn’t able to find any information about the date.

    I’m thinking of preordering Meikoi (明治東亰恋伽). Not sure if it’s gonna be good or not but I love traditional Japanese setting.
    I’ve also been thinking of Kamigami no Asoubi, Kazuki Yone tempts me but also makes me wonder if it’s good or not =.=

    • It is a game with multiple parts like Hana Aware, Starry Sky etc. It’s short due to that and also that it’s packaged as a drama CD as well. I guess it’s trying to be a sampler of several things at once. I really like the characters and writing, so I think it’s worth the time. It only takes.. 3-4 hours? at most to complete all routes in the game and another 50 minutes for the CD.

      I’m buying Shiratsuyu for Hino Satoshi (and the dummy head mic+horror elements), so I don’t think I’ll be disappointed. I like the atmosphere they’ve presented so far. It will likely be a game where I don’t finish every character route, but that’s the norm for me. I had 2000 points on CDJapan to spend and I’m buying dotkare and seishun elsewhere.

      The bonus set for Seishun I ordered was ~10000 yen. There’s many different variations, but that was the one on comicomi. My aim was special edition+their Yoshino Hiroyuki CD. I don’t really do limited editions, so that hurt! I don’t know how good the game will be overall, but there are a few characters that really appeal to me. I adore Yoshino in any non-genki boy role. I probably played less than 50% of Starry Sky myself, not even including the after stories.

      I haven’t seen a date for AkaAka yet, but I’ve been waiting for it. I want to order it and scope out any bonuses that will be offered. I want that game voiced so badly.

      I’m more into fantasy/supernatural than historical. I have a wait and see policy on Kamigami no Asoubi. I like the mythological aspect, but I don’t know how good it will be. I have a pretty good queue right now, so no rush.

Leave a Reply

