January Manga

Another batch of manga that arrived with good timing about 2 weeks ago. Unfortunately, I’ve run out of A5 plastic covers. I need to order more, but already have 20 more books I want in the coming month. It never ends.

In the pile:

  • & 5 – The most wanted book of the bunch. The only disappointment is the long wait until the next volume.
  • Ore ga Akuma de, Aitsu ga Yome de. 1 – This is adorable and kinda wrong at the same time with its under-aged “bride.” But she’s the best part and is in charge, so it’s all good.
  • Ippo 1 – est em and shoes!
  • The Man of Tango – the final – this book is high quality and very thick. The guys are beefy too, of course. Definitely a collector item.
  • Kamisama Hajimemashita 13-14 –  we seem to be heading towards the climax of the story?
  • Acid Town 3 – I thought I picked this up a long time ago. I was wrong. When’s the next coming out?!
  • Clover no Kuni no Alice – Kishi no Kokoroe 3 – This Ace story has ended. It needed more Ace. These collections should assume the reader has a pretty extensive knowledge of the Alice story lines and focus more on the characters..
  • Clover no Kuni no Alice – Kuroi Tokage to Nigai Aji 3 – needed to finish out this series
  • Hakkenden 12 – I was going to wait until the anime ended to reread and catch up, but my will is eroding.
  • Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji 5 – more Hatta Ayuko
  • Wolfull Moon – A cute shoujo fantasy story. It was really nothing more, nothing less.
  • Nagata-sensei wa Oyobigoshi – not really a fan of Fujimoto Haruki, but it’s hard to resist oyaji. Sometimes I hit, sometimes I miss.. we’ll see which this one is.
  • GUSHmaniaEX R45R – Another collection of oyaji stories! This time, it looks like the majority of the men and their partners are oji-san level. Nice.
  • T x S 1 – Takatsuki Noboru and seme vs. seme? Yes, please
  • GUSH peche – seme vs seme collection – I like this particular trend. However, one story oddly was not seme vs seme, but just made the yankee boy bottom with no resistance on his part. It was cute, but not what the anthology is about. I swear there’s always one contributor that doesn’t get the theme memo in these collections..
  • Kenenka no Table – pretty cover with lovely old man splayed out on a table. Yup.
  • Akkan Complete – I knew it would be terribly censored, but I miss buying bara. Next to the practically untouched and very sexy Man of Tango, the censoring is pretty sad.

14 responses to “January Manga

  1. Ohohohoho! Really really good treasure! I especially love Kamisama Hajimemashita…enjoy reading.

    ps. I’m a great fan of Yuki Kodama, and I’m waiting to read news about Tsukikage baby, her new work, do you know anything about it?

  2. Queenmightymaeve

    Lol! “Kenenka no Table – pretty cover with lovely old man splayed out on a table. Yup.”
    You have such a fabulous way with reviews.

  3. screenshots from & v5 please?

  4. I don’t usually read bara, but has the censoring really gotten that bad? If they’re blurring stuff out for bara, then I worry mightily for some of my more graphic yaoi artists. I was reading reviews for Sublime’s Starting with a Kiss volume 2, and there were a lot of complaints about censoring, like total white-out of some very precious parts.

    • It’s pretty bad. Instead of white-out/invisi penis, it’s a pixelated one-eyed monster. What I posted here https://shinkeikaku.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/stricter-censoring-in-aqua-comics-manga-nsfw/ is a pretty accurate representation. It feels like we’re regressing.

      • Thank you so much for that entry! I’ve been trying to keep my eyes peeled for people’s opinions on the recent censorship wave, but haven’t seen too much about it (on English-speaking sites). I’m glad to see that there are many others who share my same frustrations. I saw your examples, and it’s a travesty, an absolutely travesty what was done. I’ve only started reading boy’s love and I know that some artists prefer not to be too graphic, which I’m all right with depending on the manga-ka, but this recent discovery of blatant censorship has me questioning whether some of what I’ve been reading has been self-censorship or censorship in general from the publishers. It’s too bad they can’t solve this problem the same way we did when we were faced with explicit musical content from artists like Eminem in the 90s. Slap an advisory content label on it and be done with it. Also, you mentioned a similar wave of censorship that occurred in the 90s. Am I too optimistic in hoping that this recent crackdown will pass and things will revert back to its original state of full-on graphic dirty male love?

        • It feels like pressure from the publishers in response to the changing regulations. They’re being “careful.” I can only hope it will get a little less ridiculous than the white-out, blurred dongs we now have, but I’m guessing those regulations will have to change first.

  5. You mentioned A5 plastic covers. Where do you get yours or what specifically do you use? I’ve tried searching but I’m not really sure where to start with what I should use. I would really like to keep my collection as safe as possible…

  6. Such a fun and diverse looking pile! The only one of these series I have read is kamisama but i also rarely read manga since I never have any money..

Leave a Reply

