January Manga Purchases

I’m back–I’m sure my manga missed me~ While I was gone, I made sure they’d get more comrades soon.  I placed a couple of orders–an early January order, a Rakuten order for some out of print titles, and a late January order.  I’ll need another order in February since Oyajina! 2 is out on 2/24 and Hidaka Shoko’s new series Hatsukoi no Atosaki on 2/28.  These will have to entertain me until the glorious day when Oyajina 2 arrives!

Early January–

  • Silver Diamond 25 by Sugiura Shiho – Kinrei and the Prince on the cover, must have!
  • & 3 by Okazaki Mari – VOLUME 3, IT’S HERE
  • Hana wa Saku ka 3 by Hidaka Shoko – Another awesome Vol 3!
  • Mukuro Chandelier 3 by Rinno Miki – the end! I’ll miss this weird little series. Until her next odd manga
  • Chikutaku Bonbon 3 by Katsuta Bun- another series is done.  I’ll miss this terribly
  • Oji-san wa Wasuremono no Naka by Kitabeppu Nica – Oji-san in the title, I’m there
  • Soshite, Kimi wo Suki ni Naru by Inoue Masato – supposedly has oyaji in it
  • Kuro to Kuro by Toumiya Senko
  • Boku to Kanojo to Senpai no Hanashi and Ore to Kanojo to Sensei no Hanashi by Tojitsuki Hajime – more of her b-boy style!
  • Akunin wo Nakaseru Houhou by Amagakure Gido

The rest are mostly out of print titles–lots of Nishi Keiko.  With the new reprints, there’s usually one or two old oneshots left out, so I ended up picking up most of the old ones to get 100% coverage~  There’s still some other old stuff I didn’t pick up this time, but this is the majority of Nishi Keiko’s BL works.

  • Tenshi ni Naranakya
  • E.re.ga
  • Boku wa Tori ni Naritai
  • Momoiro no Senaka
  • September
  • Mou Hitotsu no Umi
  • Mizu ga Kooru ni Naru Toki
  • Sayonara Juliet
  • Senya Ichiya – Shitone no Himegoto by Okadaya Tetuzoh – I missed it the first time around
  • Saradinaasa 1-9 by Kawasou Masumi –  old school shoujo pirate manga.  I’ve been eyeballing this one for a while
  • Himegimi no Jouken 1-8 by Sakuno Yasuko – sounds like a strong female role
  • Tenjou no Ai Chijou no Koi 1-11 by Katou Tomoko – BL-flavored shoujo series, mid-90s vintage.  A good time!
  • Kaze to Ki no Uta 1-17 by Takemiya Keiko – got the original editions (special ones have hideous covers ;_;) even though I probably won’t read it until summer

There’s also a late January order with a couple of BL titles I’ve wanted to pick up, including some oyaji goodness and shoujo snacks.

  • Pin to Kona 1-6 by Shimaki Ako – random shoujo fun
  • Saka no Ue no Mahoutsukai 1-2 by Meiji Kanako – I like stories about magicians.. I just wished it focused on the king storyline versus the young boy
  • Negative-kun to Positive-kun by Hideyoshico
  • Endou-kun no Kansetsu Nikki by Hayakawa Nojiko
  • Grandeek ReeL 4 by Ouse Kohime
  • Ato Domo Naku by Himawari Souya – might be out of print
  • Smoker by Inoue SatouOYAJI
  • Hoshi ni Naru Hi by Suzuki Julietta – oneshot collection
  • Kamisama Hajimemashita 11 by Suzuki Julietta
  • Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji 2 by Hatta Ayuko – ordered this early so it doesn’t delay my order by weeks like vol 1 did >.>
  • Usu Aji by Nishi Keiko – some old oneshots
  • Koi Aji by Nishi Keiko – more oneshots
  • A*D – Tenshi no Uso 2 by Aki
  • Futagashira 1 by Ono Natsume
  • Ono Natsume’s illustration book
  • Monogatari wa Shi de Owaranai by Tojitsuki Hajime
  • Choubi by Tojitsuki Hajime
  • Bakemono Club 1 by Kodama Naoko/Akira
  • Joujin by Kuku Hayate

8 responses to “January Manga Purchases

  1. Whoa, you certainly didn’t hold back. A big bulk of manga in the beginning of 2012? Keep up the good work! =)) Oh, and Happy New Year!

    • Sadly, I did hold back, ha. I wanted Akuma no Hanayome too.. but I’ll get that soon enough. I really wanted to get some other old, out of print series, but let it be for now. When I do my rare Rakuten orders, I make sure it counts.😀 I reorganized my shelves, so obviously I need to cram more in! I made a Year 24 spot, so it was naturally time to get KazeKi~ I’ll have to expand that spot at this rate..

      Thanks and I hope you had nice holidays too😀

  2. Chikutaku Bonbon ends with v3? Nuh! Should have gotten that and Pin to Kona. ;-; I’m going to drool over your Nishi Keiko collection now.

    Is Saka no Ue no Mahoutsukai good? The sample pages on b’s-garden turned me off from the series.

    • Yeah, Chikutaku Bonbon is already done. I’m sad😦 I shouldn’t be until I read it, ha. Still, I looove Sango and will miss him. Here’s to hoping she makes another character just as charming in her next work, whatever it is :3

      The Nishi Keiko collection has grown. I’m going to make a concentrated effort to not gobble it all up, but read a bit at a time.

      I don’t think the sample pages are terribly reflective. Honestly, that scene felt like the editor said “HEY, there was supposed to be some man sex in this” and she grudgingly added it lol. Since it’s Meiji Kanako, I’m pretty much expecting something to be a bit “off,” so that didn’t damper my enjoyment too much. If you don’t like her in general, it’s probably not worth it. To me, the manga’s focus is the older magician guy and I like him. The manga is like.. slice of an older magician’s life? <333 I'm huge into fantasy (esp. BL), so that is very agreeable with me. However, the back story with the king seems SO much more interesting than the current timeline with the boy. I've only read Vol 1, so I'm hoping Vol 2 expands on that more (the king IS on the cover). THAT would make an awesome manga.

      • I’m into fantasy BL too but I’m a little skeptic ‘caise it’s Meiji Kanako. Meiji Kanako’s Mimurake no Musuko ended really badly for me, volume 3 totally disregarded the first two books. Maybe I’ll wait for someone to review the book before I get it.

        • Hmm, I never read much of Mimurake no Musuko, so I can’t say much about that one. My impression is based off of Amai Hari, Jigoku Yuki Bus, and Wakudeki Shumi (need to finish those last 2!). I know I’m in for some weird-ass, but unique shit basically lol. None of those had a long, continuous story.

  3. Pingback: January Manga Pics | the manga habit

  4. Pingback: January Manga Order Pics and Upcoming Order | the manga habit

Leave a Reply

