Shiny New Releases: Shiina-kun no Torikemo Hyakka

The first volume of Shiina-kun no Torikemo Hyakka (AKA Shiina-kun no Choujuu Hyakka, Dr. Shiina’s Wildlife Encyclopedia) will be released on 7/15.  Shiina-kun no Torikemo Hyakka is a shoujo manga currently serialized in Comic Avarus.

Shiina is a serious man who has wanted to be a zoology professor since he was a child.  He was infamous for always carrying around many massive books.  Now 28 years old, Shiina is an associate professor who works diligently to train future zoologists at a university while looking after his childfood friend, Chitose (?).  Chitose is also an associate professor in the biology department and apparently always walks around with penguins.  So he is quite infamous in his own right.  Chitose has a weak constitution and always needs Shiina’s help.  This manga focuses on the trials, tribulations, and future of the young associate professor, Shiina.

I can’t even begin to describe how crazy I am over this.  Shiina sounds exactly like my kind of moe~  Being in academia myself makes it a little more exciting.  :3

5 responses to “Shiny New Releases: Shiina-kun no Torikemo Hyakka

  1. Ah, I know this series! It’s one of the reasons I wanted to sub to Avarus. My friend has sub’d to it and she loves this story a lot. I’ve seen some snippets and looks really interesting and a bit unusual. Might buy this one later too :3 (oh my, my wishlist….)

    Btw, on a very random note, I’ve already made two order all-in-all on BK1, but I haven’t gotten any points. They have this campaign if you purchase smth for 10,000yen and more, then you might get 1,000 points or smth. So I decided to participate when I made my first order. But I made my second order yesterday (btw, ordered Match Uri xD), I haven’t gotten any points after that, even though they’ve already taken money from my credit card :S How does the whole thing work?

    • It looks really cute.. I’m excited that the tank is coming out :3 I can’t wait actually.. 7/15 seems far away.

      Yay for Match Uri😀

      I know there is a bit of a lag in receiving your points for that. But the campaign points expire quickly. Points I received on May 16th are now going to expire on June 30th of the same year. 1.5 months.. a small window😦 Check back occasionally. For the credit card, don’t be surprised if the charge goes away–initially a hold is put in place (shows as a deduction in a checking account), but it will go away/refund until they actually run credit cards that month. Depending on what time of the month, that could take a couple weeks, so you need to keep an eye on it. They never double charge, but if you’re not paying attention, it might look that way. :-p

  2. This manga offers a lot of ideas and even visions about the world (and behaviors) of all living things including humans.

    The 2nd comic was even better than the first, considering the fact that the author has chosen difficult subject matters concerning environmental problems and often violent conflicts in between those who try to protect what is left of the wildlife habitat, and those who strive for financial gain by taking advantage of the uneducated local population.

    Below are several quotes I love:
    “What is the most potent poison that humans have?”
    “Your act of eliminating humans solely on the basis of profits and losses makes you just as worse as that of illegal poachers.”
    “Regardless of where we are in this world, the threat of death is never far.”
    “All living things, including humans, fear those who look ‘slightly different’ from themselves.”
    “Reference books don’t cover every single individual they are writing about. So, it is our job to observe those who are not on these reference books.”

    Love this series.

  3. wahh.. i really want to check this series out! i kind of like the look of the art.. and from what i read here it seems to be quite cynical/philosophical😄.. (because with Vassalord gone, i seem to have lost interest in buying Avarus altogether..)

    • Hmm, I don’t know about philosophical, but it’s a good read. It has some social commentary, but the majority follows the pattern of a fun manga with cute animals and a thoughtful, yet kinda moe Shiina-kun.

      I might start buying avarus for Sugiura Shiho’s new series. She always wows me.

Leave a Reply

