A Flood of Manga Arrives

I turned in my final grades today and when I got home, my Christmas manga was waiting for me on the doorstep.  What timing!  There was a large amount, so getting a pic was a bit hard.  You get the idea.  Title list is here.

Where to begin?! I feel like it will be in the Match Uri, Aitsu no Daihonmei 4, and Super Lovers 2 region..

Two days ago I got another shipment as well.  If I can’t find certain things online in the usual places, I use a proxy bidding service for yahoo.jp auctions.  The strong yen these days means only when I’m very desperate.  That boils down to collecting Tousuisha’s back catalog–with a limited distribution channel to begin with, finding their ~10-15+ year old stuff can be quite a pain.  However, do not underestimate the level of my Tousuisha freakishness.  I already own almost 600 volumes published by them.  But it’s still not enough because it’s not all of them.  The latest additions include:

  • Tanigawa Eina books, a mangaka I had nothing for previously.  Looks like very fluffy shoujo slice-of-life filled with innocent school boys:  Tomo・Dachi・Mono・Gatari, Bad Man Factory, Shiawase Ron, Yume Miru Shounen ★ Wataru, Itsuka, Kitto Mou Sugu
  • Another new-to-me mangaka, Sawamukai Shino:  Koi Made Ato 3po 1-2, Ichiban Chikakute Toui Kimi, Odd’s On
  • 4 volumes from Isaki Yasuka (already have Hawk Jack):  Mahou no Yubiwa, Yume de Aimashou, I Gotta Believe! ~Orenara Dekiru sa~, Shushokukatsudou no Susume.  I’m still missing the first volume from this person now.  CURSES.

Other stuff that snuck in over time:

  • Yakumo Tatsu 1-19 (complete) – I hate bunko and this auction popped up, so I bought it to have on hand for future reading.  I’m a huge fan of late 80s/early-mid 90s Hana to Yume and shoujo manga with male protagonists (that’s a little slashy, yeeah).  Fairly cheap, good condition, and even had the edges resurfaced/shaved by a used bookstore machine to take away some of the yellowing.
  • A collection of Hanakisou doujinshi (comics/stories) – why not
  • Inugata Summit Dog Type 3 – I like the works a lot, for both the artistry and humor.  So I got this even though I’m not into Gunji that much.  However, I really didn’t appreciate the SHOTA BOMB.  WTH man.
  • The 4 in the top corner are dupes.  Multi-volume auctions = less proxy fees.

It's a big one. Strategically placed standard manga volume acts as a size reference.

Shelf space is rapidly running out.  So many choices… manga coma begins now.

7 responses to “A Flood of Manga Arrives

  1. So many volumes at the same time! I rarely get more than maybe 25 volumes at a time, since that’s more or less the maximum of what you can fit in a BK1 5 kg box, but sometimes two boxes sent out at different times arrive at the same time.

    What is Kyō mo Ashita mo like? I’m currently reading through Double Juliet by the same creator and am thinking of getting some of her other stuff.

    You mention auction proxies, but are you aware that there are also a couple of companies which just receive and forward packages that you order yourself (e.g. http://www.tenso.com, http://www.dankedanke.com and http://www.japantodoor.com)? I’ve only used the last one, but I’ve heard from other people that the other ones also are supposed to be reliable. Most Japanese shops (such as Amazon Marketplace and Furuhon Ichiba) work fine with a Japanese postal address and a foreign credit card (but WARNING: Yahoo Auction’s “Kantan Kessai” requires a Japanese card). If you only get forwarding (and no bidding) from the proxy, the total proxy fees are typically lower, although the Yahoo Auction price might be lower to begin with.

    The strong yen is a problem for me too, although the someone weak dollar and euro make it cheap to get some non-Japanese comics. And just as you, I am seriously in need of more bookshelves…

    • I’ve long since given up trying to fit things in one box from them, but I rarely bother placing an order under 20 books which never fits in one box (likely due to some being the bigger size). I mostly wanted to have a few shoujo series on hand to read once the mood strikes me–so the bottom 2 to 3 rows won’t be my main focus for a while.

      Kyou mo Ashita mo is enjoyable–if you like Double Juliet, it’s a natural one to pick up. I haven’t read it for over a year, so I’m a bit fuzzy, but it starts out focusing on a cheery 15 year old girl who wants to become a mangaka. The story shifts away from the mangaka part more into other stuff, like a romance (strong word for it) plot with a bit older guy who acts like a guardian. So an awkward, but still cute story. However, if age gap bothers you, perhaps it should be avoided. I’ll hit this one again after Isshoni Neyou yo.

      I’ve heard of tenso mostly, as I’m eyeing Rakuten a bit lately and it seems to come up there. However, I’m not interested in doing all the leg work. I don’t have the time/patience/not confident in language skills to deal with coordinating auctions/foreign payment methods/shipping, so my time is well worth a small fee. So I also have a proxy service do the bidding, shipping, etc. I send a link, max bid, deposit, and forget about it. Later I get an invoice and can request shipping. Perfect. I get the books so dirt cheap that it evens out decently in the end.

      The shelf situation is dire. I was pondering packing a few old books away I don’t care for much anymore as I’m likely moving in 6+ months anyway, but it just seems wrong…

  2. Thanks, I will probably include Kyō mo Ashita mo in one of my future shipments, then.

    The Tensō option isn’t very useful for auction sites. If you don’t have a Japanese bank account, you may easily end up with a ¥5000 bank fee per payment, so I’m also using a proxy bidder service for auction sites. I’m only using these forwarders for things I can buy from normal shops. Buying used comics from Furuhon Ichiba (www.ubook.co.jp) or E-bookoff (www.ebookoff.co.jp) is really just the same thing as buying from BK1 or Amazon, except that you have to fill in a Japanese address (going to the forwarder’s warehouse). No correspondence with the seller needed, and you can pay with a normal international credit card (no special domestic Japanese payment method needed). I’ve also got some items from Amazon Marketplace, and so far, no conversation with sellers has been necessary. They ship to the address registered at Amazon, and then the stuff ends up there. Amazon will ask you to leave feedback, but you don’t have to do that if you don’t want to. Having both used book shops and auction sites to buy from gives you more possibilities to find rare stuff.

    • I’ve mostly been looking at different Rakuten stores, but thankfully the ones I’m interested in are part of their friendly to foreign buyers movement, so it’s not necessary. I’ve looked around ebookoff some before (I like the complete comic sets both sites have), but I haven’t picked up anything from them yet. Mostly because I don’t know what condition the books are really in. Auctions show pictures and I judge for myself. I want some more Hana to Yume late 80s/early 90s stuff, but even my own late 90s stuff from them has yellowed drastically in a normal storage environment. So the no pics thing and not having ordered from them before keeps me wary of some nasty yellowed mess that I’d pay a lot of money to ship.

      Tousuisha stuff I’ve only gotten in good condition from many different places/has aged better personally, so I’m more confident about their paper and buying without pics. I’ll likely do so soon-ish.

  3. Not seeing photos can indeed be a problem. However, the volumes I’ve bought this way have so far been in an acceptable condition. Besides, it is often easy to order from different places and forward all packages in a big box. This made it possible for me to catch up a bit on Silver Diamond without having to pay for express shipping, so last week I ordered nine volumes that way. I’ll still be a bit behind, but not as far behind as I used to be. Besides, since I ordered the volumes from Tōsuisha’s website, I got some extra free gifts: two Silver Diamond postcards and a ballpoint pen that can’t be obtained (as far as I understood) in any other way. Not very important, but still adds some rare and unusual stuff to my collection.🙂

  4. I’ll put in a good word for BookOff, they even have US stores in both Honolulu and New York City, both of which I lived near, and then I lived near another one in Japan. In general the older series, 80’s and 90’s, tend to be in good condition–they have a sliding scale with their prices based on the condition the book is in. If it’s cheap, like $2 cheap, it’s in the “worst” condition, although even then not so terrible. I dunno if you could expect to find anything from the 80’s not oxidized (I had a cow last month when I discovered my neurotically-preserved RG Veda collection was yellowed.) After having seen your process for hermetically sealing your manga I dunno if you’d be happy with BookOff’s stuff, but I think they’re in remarkably good condition compared to some of the books you see in US used book stores. Aaaaand the prices are great! And they’ll order stuff if they don’t have it already! And they didn’t pay me to say this!

    • The nearest Book-Off is hundreds of miles away, so they’re not really an option. But I was able to make several trips to the NYC one in the past and picked up many books. God I love them, but I’m nowhere near them anymore! I loved getting cheap shoujo from them. Especially the complete sets. The prices were great and I could take a lot more risks buying from them. I never got a chance to order anything from them–cool, didn’t know they did that. I miss them.

      Paper oxidation is unavoidable, but the degree is highly dependent on the paper material used (lignin seems to be the culprit). Some publishers are better than others! My RG Veda copies are not looking that hot either😦 But my older Shoten copies look fantastic for being like 20+ years old lol. The plastic covers I use just keep the dust jackets nice and shiny from regular wear and tear.

Leave a Reply

