Persona 3 Doujinshi – Samui Yoru ni Miru Yume by Shikibu Akira (original Persona 3 spoiler)

I have a confession.  For the most part, I don’t like when fangirls pair up painfully straight male characters with no homosexual inclinations or mistake true animosity for “sexual tension.”  The furthest I’ll regularly go is US x UK in Hetalia and well… Himaruya EGGS me on with that anyway.  As a result, Hetalia makes up the largest part of my modest doujinshi collection, followed by Togainu no Chi and Lamento.  Once jpqueen went under (sob), I stopped buying doujinshi since it became too much of a hassle and cost prohibitive.

I was pawing through my doujinshi and came across a little gem I had forgotten–one that managed to convincingly ship a pairing that I really didn’t care for, nor had felt the subtext, in less than 16 pages.  The doujinshi in question was a Persona 3 (original P3) doujinshi named Samui Yoru ni Miru Yume by Shikibu Akira.  I wasn’t even interested in buying P3 dj (I have 3 total); I think I bought it because it was cheap and had nice colors on the cover.  It turned out to be a great find.

Gutters from hell warning–no way I’m bending this baby!  As a side note, I’m collecting larger scans and even some pages I don’t end up using in entries in my tumblr, so if you’d like to see nicer pics, head on over there.

I’m reminiscing because I’ll meet Ryouji soon in P3P–will the tone of their relationship change now that the main character is female?  So far, the other characters act noticeably differently towards her than the main male character.  The writing is a bit different.  Junpei is a little more adorable, Yukari seems warmer and less irritating…so I’m curious how Ryouji will act.  I noticed that “beloved” comment slip there, buddy.  I don’t remember that before.  Then again, I only played it in Japanese before (I’m hardcore like that lol).  But for now, I’m looking back to the brief moment when I shipped the two.

The sign of a good doujinshi is if it can whip the reader into a frenzy about the material when they weren’t so inclined before.  I wasn’t crazy about Ryouji and really didn’t feel the somewhat popular Ryouji x main character pairing.  Except in this doujinshi.  While it’s less than 20 pages long, it’s hard to describe because the story is mostly contained within its dreamy imagery.  Basically, the main character is in a painful emotional haze after losing Ryouji.

The defining moment of the story is in this beautiful frame with a rough translation:

Even if Thanatos is born within my heart… it’s not you.

… I need to progress more in P3P and see how this works out.

Please remake P4 and let me date Kanji with both genders having unique storylines each!!! Sorry, kinda slipped there.

 

2 responses to “Persona 3 Doujinshi – Samui Yoru ni Miru Yume by Shikibu Akira (original Persona 3 spoiler)

  1. For the most part, I don’t like when fangirls pair up painfully straight male characters with no homosexual inclinations or mistake true animosity for “sexual tension.” <- I'm somehow glad that I'm not the only one :)

    Hmm have you tried Mandarake for purchasing doujins? It's pretty reliable, but you can only purchase 2 at a go. And surprisingly, paypals avaliable :D which is a heck yeah to me

    • Haha, good! I even toned down the original “detest” word I used. XD

      I haven’t visited them in a while, so I’ll have to take a look. Only 2 at a time? Not sure if that’s a blessing or a curse for me haha.

      …Ah, “Hetaria.” Will have to remember that one. They don’t seem to carry my favorites.. figures. They cannot contain my kink! D: Not a bad option though, thanks :)

Leave a Reply

